Leicestershire &
LRCA County Championships

Home County Champs Leics League League Cups Summer Cups Clubs Gradings County Teams Archive Search Links Submit Result

The 2011 County Championships will be in four sections.  The Open Championship and Challengers are running as Swiss tournaments, and the Major and Minor in round-robin format.  Matches are to be played at Wigston Liberal Club.  (Map)

The sections and current holders are:

  • Open Championship (held by Alan Byron): a FIDE rated section open to all players, with a qualifying place for the 2012 British Championships
  • Challengers (held by Steve Wylie): open to players graded below 160
  • Major (held by Rob Ensor): open to players graded below 140
  • Minor (held by Ray Beach): open to players graded below 120

If you are unavailable for a particular date you may either take a half point bye in that round (if requested prior to the round being published) or you may bring the game with your opponent forward.  Under no circumstances will games be allowed to be played after these dates.

Rounds have been scheduled as follows:

Open Championship Challengers Major/Minor
Round 1 28 Apr 5 May 5 May
Round 2 26 May 2 Jun 2 Jun
Round 3 23 Jun 30 Jun 30 Jun
Round 4 21 Jul 28 Jul 28 Jul
Round 5 18 Aug 25 Aug 25 Aug
Round 6 15 Sep n/a 22 Sep
Round 7 n/a n/a *

* Round 7 matches to be played on dates before 31 August agreed between players and notified to Sean Hewitt once agreed.